Wild Weekly Photo Challenge- Macro


jelly fish up close and personal

I’m participating in the online adventure travel magazine LetsBeWild.com’s Wild Weekly Photo Challenge for bloggersThis week’s Challenge is: Macro Photography!LetsBeWild.com’s Wild Weekly Photo Challenge for bloggersThis week’s Challenge

is: Macro Photography!“>

 

Cuidado left me a message that these are called Blue Bottle Jellyfish. I had never heard of that name so I did a little research.

Blue Bottle Jellyfish, at least that is what they are named in Australia and New Zealand. Interestingly, the rest of the world refers to this jellyfish as Portuguese Man-o- War. As we should all know to avoid any contact with those long tentacles as you will be burnt with its paralyzing poison.  The sting can be very painful, but not life-threating.

On day last summer while we were at the beach, David came running out of the water in severe pain. He said a jellyfish had stung him. We tried salt water and sand to relieve the pain but to no avail.  We went home and he layed in bed in pain. I ran to the store and got some meat tenderizer as I had heard somewhere that this would work. As soon as I rubbed the meat tenderizer on the sting the pain was gone. I now carry it in my beach bag at all times.

Thanks Cuidado for the info!!!

6 responses

  1. I have seen these – blue bottles in Australia.

    1. Thanks so much for the info. I did some research on the jellyfish. If you have a chance read my post I added to the pic. 🙂 Carol

  2. I love the different shades of blue color in this picture.

  3. nice blog you have here. and thanks for the visit.

your feedback greatly appreciated.

